Walking into an Abortion Clinic, Part II

Since 1996, Center for Arizona Policy has successfully supported over 27 pro-life bills that have become Arizona law. This is Part II of a two-part 5 Minutes for Families where we are highlighting some of these laws that regulate abortion. In Part I we addressed laws related to the abortion clinic waiting room, and informed consent and ultrasound requirements 24 hours before the abortion.

In Part II, we will address judicial bypass for minors, the abortion procedure, and what happens after the abortion.

Judicial bypass for a minor

  • A minor must secure written and notarized consent from one of her parents or legal guardians before a physician can perform the abortion.
  • However, a minor may bypass parental consent and obtain authorization from a superior court judge.
  • For the bypass, a judge considers whether the minor is mature enough to make the decision. The judge considers relevant factors, including:
    • Minor’s age.
    • Experience working outside the home.
    • Experience living away from home.
    • Experience traveling on her own.
    • Experience handling personal finances.
    • Experience making other significant decisions.
    • What steps the minor took to explore her options.
    • Minor’s conduct since learning of her pregnancy and her intellectual ability to understand her options and to make an informed decision.

The abortion

  • The doctor must sign an affidavit certifying the abortion is not because of race or sex of the baby.
  • Physician may not perform an abortion of a viable fetus (22-24 weeks), unless “necessary to preserve the life or health of the woman.”
    • Viability means “reasonable probability of the fetus’ sustained survival outside the uterus, with or without artificial support.”
    • In deciding whether the abortion is medically necessary, the physician may consider physical, emotional, psychological, and familial factors, as well as the woman’s age. These factors may override any consideration of whether the baby is viable or not, allowing for abortions through nine months.
  • A basic medical evaluation is conducted on the woman. It includes medical history, physical exam, and lab tests.
  • Only physicians may perform surgical abortions. Physician assistants and nurses may not perform surgical abortions nor prescribe medication abortions.
  • Woman’s vital signs must be monitored throughout the procedure.
  • Women are transferred to a hospital in the event of an emergency.
  • If baby is delivered alive, the baby must receive care and be transferred to a hospital. This law was expanded considerably this year through CAP-supported bill SB 1367.

After the abortion

  • Woman’s vital signs are monitored during the recovery period until medical professional determines she is stable and ready to leave.
  • The woman is given information about possible complications and a name and number to call in case of emergency.
  • Health professional from abortion clinic must make good faith effort to contact patient by telephone within 24 hours after a surgical abortion to asses her recovery.
  • For a surgical abortion, a postabortion medical visit is offered and, if requested, is scheduled for three weeks after the abortion.
  • For a medication abortion, a postabortion medical visit is scheduled between 1 and 3 weeks after the initial dose of medication.
  • The woman has a right to a copy of her medical records.

Because of these kinds of laws, Americans United for Life (AUL) has designated Arizona as a 2017 AUL All-Star and as the fifth most protective state against abortion industry abuses.

 

ICYMI – Latest News & Articles of Interest

  • Brian Miller, in an op-ed in Forbes, convincingly argues that “Religious Freedom Deserves Better from Our Public Discourse.”
  • A recent article from Institute for Family Studies discusses various studies showing that most teens are not having sex, and that a teen’s parents and faith are the two most influential factors in their decisions about sex.
  • Planned Parenthood provides shocking parental guidelines on how to talk to your preschooler about sex. The guidelines are in step with the transgender ideology, encouraging parents to teach their children that “your genitals don’t make you a boy or a girl.”

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This